top of page

Awards Season Highlights 2014


Hi all! As a fashion lover, my favourite time of year is Awards season as we get to see some pretty awesome fashions coming straight off the red carpet. I have many favourite designers in general but this season has thrown some brand new designers into the mix. I have a couple of strong contenders for you all! Here are some of my top 8 red carpet looks this season: 1. Amy Adams in Gucci Première at the Academy Awards What I love: Contrary to what most critics have been saying about this red carpet look, I think it is stunning. The main consensus was that it was far to plain for the Oscars. However, I believe differently. Yes, it is simple but that is what makes the gown so classic. Sometimes, less is more. It fits her perfectly without a crease in sight. The colour is so beautiful against her skin tone and I love the bust detail which gives it a more structured finish. The trail is just the right length so that it doesn't dominate the whole dress when looked at head on. It shows off her petite frame in a way which isn't complimentary. In my opinion it is a perfect dress to wear for an actress nominated for the role of Best Actress because it is sophisticated yet youthful. If I were to wear this dress...: ...I would drop the big orange earrings and wear a silver diamond necklace so that it draws attention to the detail on the bustier. Better yet scrap the necklace and style my hair in a Jessica Rabbit style down-do, making the hair style less severe. 2. Emma Watson in Dior at the Golden Globes

What I love:

Okay, when did Emma get so brave? Well, it is her first appearance at various awards this season and I have to say, she has certainly left me bewildered, in a good way! This is the one time I will allow any woman to where trousers on the red carpet. I never thought Miss Watson would be one of the first to do this, bravo! I think she looks stunning and I have to give it her, she has a beautifully petite frame. This dress captures that perfectly.I think I love this so much because it isn't just a "party in the back" look, it still looks stunning from the front as well. I think her classic and timeless sixties do looks perfect with this look as it isn't too much as to take away from the outfit. Can I call it a dress? The trousers/pants fit her perfectly without showing too much skin for the Globes. Hats off to you Watson, you are one brave, exciting young style queen!

If I were to wear this outfit...:

...I would lose the blue velvet shoes as they look a bit out of place when you look at the bottom of the ensemble. I would maybe go for a nude and black heel. Then I might add a classic JLaw backwards necklace to draw attention to the open back.

3. Cate Blanchett in Alexander McQueen at the BAFTAS

I love everything about this dress. It looks so beautifully tailored to her shape and is a perfect dress for her particular age. She looks trendy but not to dressed to young. I love the McQueen-style symmetrical print going down the skirt. It gives the illusion of a slimmer frame (not that she needs it).There is always a worry with black in that it could be lost in the picture, however the fabric of this dress shines just enough for it not to be lost.Cate's hair has been styled perfectly with this dress as it has volume but doesn't overpower the look.I am always a bit unsure of chunky, "showy" necklaces on the red carpet because I feel like the dress should be the main focus. However, I think that the large pendant necklace is exactly what this dress needed as the top half of the dress looks and is tailored relatively plainly. The pendant also adds to the theme of symmetry which I love. Nice one, Cate!

If I were to wear this dress...:

...I would take up the hem not even an inch, if I was being picky, so that the skirt drops straight to the floor.

4. Sarah Hyland in Pamella Roland at the SAG Awards

What I love:

Now, I must tell the truth, when I first saw this dress I didn't like it that much. I thought there was just too much of the same colour. However, when I looked more closely at it, I saw just how stunning it was. Although it only has one diluted pastel colour, the fit and styling of this dress is very classic and suits Sarah's shape to a T. I love how the dress has a higher front than the back. Mainly because the hem doesn't surpass the heel, making it look stylish as opposed to slightly tacky. Also, the fabric looks so luxurious and satinesque, I just want to rub my face on it. Is that weird? I also think that the back of the dress adds lots of interest. It makes it look equally as interesting as the front. I like the pleat down the middle making it look purposefully oversized but still suits her figure. I also like the dark pink clutch as 1. It isn't too big and 2. It adds more colour to the outfit as a whole. Overall, I think she looks, youthful, elegant and premium red carpet material.

If I was to wear this dress...:

...I would not change anything to the dress because it can speak for itself, or dazzle for itself. I would maybe apply a darker lip colour so that my dress, skin and lips aren't all the same similar colour.

5. Taylor Swift in Gucci Première at the Grammys

I think it's fair to say that that is the prettiest chain mail I have ever seen. How gorgeous does Taylor look in this dress? Gucci Première has done such a good job this year at dressing actresses with very tall frames. There is something so magical about this dress. It reminds me of a fairy.I just love the fit and the length is perfect as it goes straight to the floor. I also love the dull metallic gold as it isn't too harsh on the eye, it is just enough to make her glow. Her shoes match the dress perfectly as they stick to her colour scheme but differ slightly in pattern. We all know Taylor has a bit of a thing for wearing this kind of colour but she really does know how to rock it.Her hair looks perfect as it kept out of her face but gathers at the back so that you can just see it from the front in photos. Also I think that she has accessorised well, again, sticking to the colour scheme but changing it up with a large ring and pendant style earrings. She looks stunning, professional, stylish, what more could you ask for at the Grammys? Wow Swift, you've blown me away!

If I were to wear this dress...:

...I would add a thin chain bracelet to the wrist, just to add to the theme of chain and make it all the more feminine, why not?

6. Michelle Dockery in Oscar De La Renta at the Golden Globes

What I love:

Well, I don't know what it is with me and these different hem dresses but I am loving them this season. It is nice to see Michelle wearing something more elegant for a change. Sometimes I think she worries that people think she is "too Downton" so she tend to dress a bit provocatively. However, I prefer it when she wears lighter tones such as these, which highlight her famously chalky white skin. I think the dress has been cleverly constructed as it manipulates the body to make the hips look wider, but it still maintains Michelle's thin physique. I also love the dainty little gold pump heels she is wearing, it adds a bit of glamour to the dress, but sticks to the colour scheme. I think that the colour of her lips are perfect for this look as it adds a bit of colour. See Michelle, a bit of Downton glamour never hurt anyone!

If I were to wear the dress...:

...I would wear a necklace! The neck appears a little bit bare. You don't want the attention of the eyes to draw to particular parts of the dress, you want the viewer to be drawn to the whole outfit. Therefore, I think this outfit needed a necklace to showcase the bustier slightly better. However, she still looks great.

7. Kate Hudson in Atelier Versace at the Academy Awards

What I love:

Wow, what a comeback! I haven't seen Kate on the carpet for a while but to see her back with so much innovative, individual style is so refreshing.I love the plunging neckline as it isn't too broad, it is long and thin and doesn't look cheap in the slightest (as some plunging necklines sometimes do).I also love the colour of this dress. It isn't too silver, but it isn't too boring either. It is beautifully embellished and just by looking at it in a picture, you can tell that it just floats along with her as she walks.I love the idea of the cape, it looks sophisticated and demure, adding glamour to the dress as an ensemble. She has barely accessorised, leaving the eyes to gawk at the gorgeous attention to detail. I think she was clever not to over accessorise the outfit or there would be too much going on and it would look a bit of a mess.Her hair looks stunning and classic, perfect for the Oscars, prefect for the kind of look she is going for. I want to say 1920s glamour, very Gatsby!

If I was to wear this dress...:

...I would lose the harsh shoulder pads as they make her shoulders look more hunched and harsh, which confuses me slightly. However, she looks far too beautiful for me to care that much!

8. Jennifer Lawrence in Dior Couture at the Academy Awards

What I love: Finally, I gotta finish with my girl, Jennifer! I think she always looks stunning. Even if she was caught by the paps at a Fast Food restaurant without any makeup on, wearing a onesie she would still look amazing. I love her hair. The one reason why I haven't included her much in my top 8 best looks is because I haven't been a massive fan of her hair recently. It needs to be combed back and given more height to really show of the contours of her face. At the Oscars 2014, Jennifer did just that and I could not be happier! I love her backwards necklace, just like last year. It adds an interesting, personal touch. You can tell that she has had a say in the way she looks which is nice to know as she is a style icon for the younger generation. Her dress was custom made by Dior, which I find is so much nicer for her than picking from a collection. It gives the dress her own identity. In terms of its features, I love the side peplum details at the hip. It adds interest to the dress but keeps it looking elegant. I like the slight fishtail that starts at the knee. These little techniques are what make the dress so beautiful to see. The colour is by far the best thing about it. The colour is bright and luminous, it just outshines all other colour around it, making it take center stage. It has a simple design but is incredibly striking. Perfect attire for a Best Supporting Actress nominee. She's done it again. Jen, we all salute you! If I was to wear the dress...: ...I would add a little more jewellery to the wrists and maybe a ring or two, just to bling it up slightly. Otherwise, complete perfection. Phew, so there you have it. Eight of my favourite red carpet looks from this year's awards season. I hope you all enjoyed my selection. If you agree/disagree with me or want to tell me what your favourite dresses were, be sure to leave a comment so I can get back to you! Until next time! SophieSeamstress

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page